Issue with discovering PM5

Post questions and issues with Concept2 PM3 SDK

Issue with discovering PM5

Postby mishab » December 28th, 2014, 9:09 pm

Quick question about communicating with PM5 device. Is PM5 is supported device in the latest SDK?
mishab
Paddler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: October 6th, 2014, 2:12 pm

Re: Issue with discovering PM5

Postby c2scott » December 28th, 2014, 10:10 pm

I have not specifically tried it, however for the most part it should be a matter of extending the discovery to include PM5 as well as PM3 and PM4 (in the USB ID strings).
User avatar
c2scott
2k Poster
 
Posts: 209
Joined: March 19th, 2006, 6:31 pm

Re: Issue with discovering PM5

Postby mishab » December 28th, 2014, 11:18 pm

Got it. Created new #define and got it to work with PM5. Thanks.
mishab
Paddler
 
Posts: 8
Joined: October 6th, 2014, 2:12 pm

Re: Issue with discovering PM5

Postby chairat » February 26th, 2015, 9:46 pm

Dear Mishab
Thank you for your post. I have the same problem. My SDK cannot find PM5 too. Please tell me more about how to solve the problem by puting #define in the code.
Best regards,
Chairat
chairat
Paddler
 
Posts: 1
Joined: February 26th, 2015, 9:42 pm

Re: Issue with discovering PM5

Postby monsdar » March 10th, 2015, 4:38 pm

I'm interested too, could you please give more details on what you did and how it worked?

Thanks!
monsdar
Paddler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: January 25th, 2015, 11:27 am

Re: Issue with discovering PM5

Postby monsdar » March 11th, 2015, 6:16 am

I played around a lot last night and it finally worked for me. Thing is that the PMSDKDemo.exe which comes with the SDK is not able to recognize my PM5 monitor. The SDK itself seems to be very outdated to be honest...

Despite the SDK-Demo not being able to connect I was able to by using my own code. Due to the lack of examples I used the following sources to get it running:
  • A Forum topic with example code I found: Here
  • A C interface I found by googling. Code does not work very well, but it was good enough to understand the concepts: Here
  • A C# interface which helped getting the last details I was missing: Here
The important thing to detect the PM5 monitor was to use the following line:
Code: Select all
tkcmdsetDDI_discover_pm3s("Concept2 Performance Monitor 5 (PM5)", 0, &numUnits);


The name of the PM5 is not part of the SDK, thanks a lot to nick_a for finding what is needed. See my first link to get more information about the surrounding code.
monsdar
Paddler
 
Posts: 12
Joined: January 25th, 2015, 11:27 am


Return to SDK Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest