Newbie been challenged to sub 7 2k

General discussion on Training. How to get better on your erg, how to use your erg to get better at another sport, or anything else about improving your abilities.

Newbie been challenged to sub 7 2k

Postby Never-quit » January 11th, 2017, 10:03 am

Hello everyone,

First of all thanks for taking the time to hopefully read and post a reply to this thread. I'm a firefighter and a work colleague challenged me to row a sub 7 2k. I haven't ever rowed before but taught martial arts for 6 years and competed in boxing and MMA. The first attempt I quit. DNF. Was pulling 1:30 split haha too fast too soon and I got ridiculed for quitting.

On my second attempt (or my better informed 1st real attempt as I like to call it!) I pulled a 7:21. With random and sporadic training over the past 7 weeks I managed to get it down to 7:11. I've been doing a split of all over body weights one day then rowing the next, trying to do one long row (20minutes non stop), 5x5minutes and 10x500 meters on the 3 cardio days. As I said this has been sporadic and sometimes I may have done a circuit or tabata session with my mates at work (We get to use the gym everyday for 45 minutes - I know blessed right?)

After pulling a 7:11 I am now fully committed to this and wondered if you though this was a sufficient rowing plan? I really enjoy the mind games rowing plays with me and am starting to enjoy the visit to the pain cave. When I pass this challenge I will look at moving on up. And yes, I am willing to puke/faint/die on the rower!

Many thanks.

Ps I'm 177cm and 85kg although my body fat is 17%
33 85kg 17% body fat 177cm

2k - 7:11.7 - Obsession with a sub 7
Never-quit
Paddler

Re: Newbie been challenged to sub 7 2k

Postby Marben » January 11th, 2017, 12:03 pm

Hi!

I asked almost the same question some time ago (viewtopic.php?f=3&t=151332). Since then I have gone from 7.26 to 6.52. Probably 6.50 today.