How to row a 6k erg test

General discussion on Training. How to get better on your erg, how to use your erg to get better at another sport, or anything else about improving your abilities.

How to row a 6k erg test

Postby mstshtml » September 26th, 2007, 4:06 am

Hello,
So here is my story...I became interested in crew my junior year of high school. I was a novice spring of my junior year and rowed 1 season of fall my senior year. Even though I rowed in fall (of 2006), I never was tested for a 6k on the erg. I was on my high school's varsity B boat my senior year (spring of 2007). I never really was that great only because I never was crazy athletic. Crew was my first sport I really ever played and even though I definately got in way better shape compared to what I used to be, I wasnt the best on the team. Anyway, so now I row for a club college team. I go to Arizona State University and they have a small club team, but still VERY competitive. We rowed our first 6k of the season today, and my first 6k ever. To say the least I went into it not knowing much, I pretty much started of too fast and died toward the middle. Our couch kind of sprung this on us yesterday so I really didnt have much time to prepare. Anyway, I was dissappointed with my results. My time was a 24mins and 33seconds. and My Average 500m split was 2:01.9
So I have a couple questions, does anyone have any tips on how to row the peace, for example rates, start of at a certain rate then slow down, or anything. Also what are the most effective ways to train for this.
Because my coach was dissappointed with all of our times he wants us to start doing these tests once a week now. So there is no doubt I will be doing this again next week, and the week after, and so on.
Thanks.
-Steve
mstshtml
Paddler

Postby ancho » September 26th, 2007, 6:37 am

Hi, Steve!
The training for the 6k tests should be pretty muchg the same training you do for your club.