Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Maintenance, accessories, operation. Anything to do with making your erg work.
Post Reply
ChrisPBacon
500m Poster
Posts: 52
Joined: November 4th, 2014, 12:29 pm
Location: USA

Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by ChrisPBacon » May 30th, 2015, 2:47 pm

I bought the machine in November with v15 software. I am now running v19. All of the versions have had bugs. Just lost another workout today. Didn't save to the PM5 memory or the thumb drive. :x

Please C2, hire someone competent to get the software fixed.
199 cm, 99 kg, 47 yrs, started rowing 11/2014

User avatar
Citroen
SpamTeam
Posts: 6943
Joined: March 16th, 2006, 3:28 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by Citroen » May 30th, 2015, 4:50 pm

Perhaps you should try the PM5 V19.001 beta version, rather than ranting on here.

ChrisPBacon
500m Poster
Posts: 52
Joined: November 4th, 2014, 12:29 pm
Location: USA

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by ChrisPBacon » May 30th, 2015, 5:11 pm

Try a beta version......lol!
199 cm, 99 kg, 47 yrs, started rowing 11/2014

User avatar
Citroen
SpamTeam
Posts: 6943
Joined: March 16th, 2006, 3:28 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by Citroen » May 30th, 2015, 6:32 pm

If you aren't prepared to try a beta version you can't complain about a bug that you might have found, part of bug fixing is testing newer versions to see if they resolve it.

You should also reformat your USB stick or replace it with a factory fresh one to eliminate that as a possible root cause.

ChrisPBacon
500m Poster
Posts: 52
Joined: November 4th, 2014, 12:29 pm
Location: USA

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by ChrisPBacon » May 30th, 2015, 6:50 pm

Citroen,

I appreciate you trying to help. I'm just frustrated.

I swore when v19 came out that I would never try a beta version again. The beta versions seemed to have many more problems than fixes.
199 cm, 99 kg, 47 yrs, started rowing 11/2014

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 3563
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by Carl Watts » May 30th, 2015, 6:55 pm

Like I said when it was released, wait 2 years if you want a stable product and that's both hardware and firmware.

When you look at how much the PM3 changed on both occasions it was made, you were spoilt by several years of firmware upgrades.

If you buy the latest product you have to expect time for development and Beta firmware versions and expect a few issues along the way. Concept 2 have some very competent and helpful guys like Scott who has been fantastic as far as I'm concerned.
Carl Watts.
Age:53 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

Bob S.
Marathon Poster
Posts: 5142
Joined: March 16th, 2006, 12:00 pm

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by Bob S. » May 30th, 2015, 7:10 pm

I find it hard to believe that the previous PMs had anywhere near the problems that have been discussed on this forum about the PM5. I had early versions of both the PM3 and PM4 and never had the slightest problem and I don't remember any significant forum discussion about problems with either of them. After all the PM5 companies that I have read here since it has been available, I wouldn't touch it with a ten foot pole.

Bob S.

User avatar
jackarabit
Marathon Poster
Posts: 5361
Joined: June 14th, 2014, 9:51 am

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by jackarabit » May 30th, 2015, 9:19 pm

Only been in release for less than nine months. Put down the pitchforks and return to your homes! I say again RETURN TO YOUR HOMES!! I luv my PM3. :lol:
There are two types of people in this world: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data

M_73_5'-7"_156lb
Image

jag
1k Poster
Posts: 121
Joined: March 26th, 2012, 12:41 pm

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by jag » June 1st, 2015, 1:52 pm

I suspect there are lots of us everyday users who are doing fine, thus no need to complain. I'm running with the firmware my PM5 shipped with (V16?) and haven't felt the need to upgrade. It works with a no-name heart-rate monitor I bought online, records my workouts to RAM (I've never needed to plug in a USB stick), no issues yet. As far as I'm concerned the software is already "fixed", if not yet "perfect" - but then what ever is?

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 3563
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by Carl Watts » June 1st, 2015, 7:15 pm

Yes many users just never bother to report a problem.

Many of the PM3's I get for repair have never been firmware upgraded in their life, some are on like the 2003 version, V61 which was way off even being RowPro compatible, but in Gym's and in general many users are just not interested, they sit down and pull the handle and as long as the numbers change its all good !

If you do Firmware upgrade it like I do with every monitor, all you get as feedback is "I like the Fish Game" :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

If you want a rock stable product get a PM3 or PM4. As far as I'm concerned, the PM is now only an interface to a PC or mobile device anyway so all you need is rock solid connectivity and for App developers and Digital Rowing to catch-up with the unlimited possibilities now available in the graphics area and with Online users.
Carl Watts.
Age:53 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

PB-1974
Paddler
Posts: 20
Joined: January 21st, 2015, 3:53 pm

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by PB-1974 » June 8th, 2015, 3:38 am

Citroen wrote:If you aren't prepared to try a beta version you can't complain about a bug that you might have found, part of bug fixing is testing newer versions to see if they resolve it.

You should also reformat your USB stick or replace it with a factory fresh one to eliminate that as a possible root cause.

Nonsense.
BETA software is software which is in development and the chances are the BETA software is more instable then non-BETA software.

User avatar
Citroen
SpamTeam
Posts: 6943
Joined: March 16th, 2006, 3:28 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by Citroen » June 8th, 2015, 6:45 am

I know that beta is unatable, but you never get the bugs fixed if you aren't prepared to work with the developer to help him/her resolve it. Your use case may be unique and they may not be able to resolve it in their lab set-up.

It's not sensible to argue with me about software management, it's been my day job for 33 years.

PB-1974
Paddler
Posts: 20
Joined: January 21st, 2015, 3:53 pm

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by PB-1974 » June 8th, 2015, 7:26 am

Citroen wrote:I know that beta is unatable, but you never get the bugs fixed if you aren't prepared to work with the developer to help him/her resolve it. Your use case may be unique and they may not be able to resolve it in their lab set-up.

It's not sensible to argue with me about software management, it's been my day job for 33 years.
I dont agree with you. Why would i be bothered (and annoyed) with software-bugs?

Would you have the same opinion with your car? Or your televisionset? Or your iPhone/Android/Windows?

For me, it is a dissapointment to know i have a monitor which randomly shows bugs, like not saving my session data...

User avatar
Citroen
SpamTeam
Posts: 6943
Joined: March 16th, 2006, 3:28 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK

Re: Will C2 ever get the PM5 software fixed?

Post by Citroen » June 8th, 2015, 8:42 am

If a device doesn't work and isn't safety critical and it's hackable then I'll have a go at the software. I've been hacking code on a variety of devices for 38 years.

Cars are safety critical and software bugs should result in a post-sales engineering recall. That's a no-go area for me, my Prius is too complex.

Call Concept2 work with them rather than against them to solve your bug.

Post Reply