PM5 Hard Fault

Post bug reports or anomolous operation here
Post Reply
jsax050
Paddler
Posts: 1
Joined: March 23rd, 2019, 2:44 pm

PM5 Hard Fault

Post by jsax050 » March 23rd, 2019, 2:55 pm

Just ran into an issue with my PM5 after a workout - I had it connected to ErgData and it was running the previous firmware version (165). Right after the workout it gave me a "Hard Fault Error" with a huge string of numbers/text. I searched online and couldn't match any of the hard fault error codes on Concept 2's website with what I was seeing. The error reappears anytime I try to access the memory feature in the monitor.

I upgraded to the latest firmware (166) and ran the repair feature on the memory, then tried to access the memory again and the error came up again. Any ideas? I tried attaching a picture of the monitor but it's not letting me. This is what I see...

"Hard Fault Err - 10001608
0806652E 01000000 00000000
41880000 00000000 41800000
41880000 41800000 41880000
41900000 41980000 41A00000
41A80000 41B00000 41B80000
41C00000 41C80000 41D00000
41D80000 41E00000 41E80000
41800000 41880000 07FDF903
FFFFFFF 41A00000 41A800000
Screen Addr - 000406F8
Command Addr - 00040AC0
Record data, hold key to reset"

User avatar
Citroen
SpamTeam
Posts: 5754
Joined: March 16th, 2006, 3:28 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK

Re: PM5 Hard Fault

Post by Citroen » March 23rd, 2019, 6:04 pm

On Monday, pick up the phone and call Concept2. Your PM5 should be under warranty.

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 3107
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: PM5 Hard Fault

Post by Carl Watts » March 23rd, 2019, 9:31 pm

I would do a full factory default reset on it.

viewtopic.php?f=10&t=185392&p=467183&hi ... et#p467183

If that doesn't work it sounds like the flash memory has failed.
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

Philippe
Paddler
Posts: 3
Joined: May 15th, 2019, 3:59 pm

Re: PM5 Hard Fault

Post by Philippe » May 15th, 2019, 4:04 pm

Hello,

Did you have a solution to your issue with PM5?
I am currently facing the exact same issue...

I would like to know if the reset is solving the issue... or if there is anoher way to fix it.

Thank in advance for your answer.
Philippe

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 3107
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: PM5 Hard Fault

Post by Carl Watts » May 15th, 2019, 10:13 pm

Update to the latest firmware.

Have you then tried the full factory reset to the defaults ?

Probably worth doing this first and then let us know if it fixes it or not.

If both of these don't work and the monitor is running in isolation (not connected to anything else) then pickup the phone to Concept 2, your monitor is probably faulty.

If its only a problem with Ergdata then its becomes fun. Similar problem to when using RowPro, you don't know if the issue is with the monitor or RowPro or even the PC.If you have the latest firmware versions and software versions and you still have issues your kind of stuffed.
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

Philippe
Paddler
Posts: 3
Joined: May 15th, 2019, 3:59 pm

Re: PM5 Hard Fault

Post by Philippe » May 16th, 2019, 3:39 am

Thanks a lot for your answer, carl.

So far, I have the latest PM5 firmware (166) already installed (so before the issue).
I have tried a factory reset, and it seems to work now, at least I don't have this problem anymore when completing a workout, or trying to access the memory.
However, I didn't have time to check if it solved the problem even with the PM5 connected to Ergdata... I will check this today.

Thanks again for your help.

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 3107
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: PM5 Hard Fault

Post by Carl Watts » May 16th, 2019, 9:08 pm

The "full factory reset to defaults" appears to solve corrupted memory where your results are stored. It worked for my Older PM5 on V29 Firmware.
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

Philippe
Paddler
Posts: 3
Joined: May 15th, 2019, 3:59 pm

Re: PM5 Hard Fault

Post by Philippe » May 17th, 2019, 5:07 pm

yes, the "full factory reset" was indeed the solution: now I don't have the issue anymore, even when using Ergdata.
So everything is fine (except, of course, that I have lost all the data in the PM5... but that's the price for solving the issue).

So thanks again for your help.

Post Reply