ErgData with Android 12 bug?

Post bug reports or anomolous operation here
Post Reply
ajmullican
Paddler
Posts: 2
Joined: August 29th, 2019, 3:44 pm

ErgData with Android 12 bug?

Post by ajmullican » January 13th, 2022, 8:15 pm

Does anyone know if ErgData has a bug with Android 12?

I've always considered ErgData rock-solid and enjoyed seeing the extra data and the ability to sync with my logbook easily.

Today, during a 500m interval workout, ErgData disconnected a couple of times then reconnected. When it started again the last time, it reset to interval 0.

When I looked in my PM5 memory there was only one 500m workout, not the 9 I had done! I could only conclude that this happened because I was using my new Pixel 6, which had recently updated to Android 12. I have seen one of my game apps exit randomly after the update to Android 12 which leads me to conclude that some apps have issues with the update.

Is this a known issue with ErgData? I will revert to using ErgData on my old Pixel 2, and update this post if I see the same issue.

User avatar
Citroen
SpamTeam
Posts: 7418
Joined: March 16th, 2006, 3:28 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK

Re: ErgData with Android 12 bug?

Post by Citroen » January 14th, 2022, 6:20 pm

Send an email to rowing@concept2.com with details of your phone model, PM5 firmware version and how to recreate your failure.

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 4018
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: ErgData with Android 12 bug?

Post by Carl Watts » January 14th, 2022, 6:42 pm

I doesn't often pay to jump to the next version of an OS if your not having any trouble with the current version.

I'm still using Android 8 to 11 on various devices and no issues at all.

Have you got the latest version of firmware on the PM5 ? There has recently been 2 updates.
Carl Watts.
Age:54 Weight: 108kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

ajmullican
Paddler
Posts: 2
Joined: August 29th, 2019, 3:44 pm

Re: ErgData with Android 12 bug?

Post by ajmullican » January 18th, 2022, 10:21 pm

Yes I have updated my PM5 firmware to the most recent.

After posting this I read something else about ErgData and "location while app is in use" issues. I realized that maybe the problem is that I switched over to Spotify a couple of times on my phone. The problem didn't happen right away when I did that so I didn't connect the events.

I tried to update the phone setting to "location always" for ErgData but it isn't an option, surprisingly. It is for some apps but not ErgData.

Tsnor
5k Poster
Posts: 531
Joined: November 18th, 2020, 1:21 pm

Re: ErgData with Android 12 bug?

Post by Tsnor » January 20th, 2022, 2:17 pm

ajmullican wrote:
January 18th, 2022, 10:21 pm
.. tried to update the phone setting to "location always" for ErgData but it isn't an option, surprisingly. It is for some apps but not ErgData.
Apps can figure out out location if they have access to bluetooth. So android requires location if an app uses bluetooth. Since ergdata can talk to the pm5 your phone is set up correctly. Ergdata couldn't connect at all if location privilege was set wrong.

Some considerations with bluetooth
1. Antenna is somewhat directional. If you are putting your phone in a new spot, move it back to the old spot. I read somewhere that the optimal for PM5 is forward so it can catch HR monitor. Not sure if that is true.
2. Lots of 2.4 ghz interference hits bluetooth. Did something change in your environment? For example, love my invertor microwave but it kills nearby BT connections when it's running, also knocks down 2.4 ghz wifi, 5 ghz is untouched. If you are using a BT headset that will have problems too if there is an interference problem, so no BT headset problems mean no interference.
3.Ergdata has problems running in the background, so it you switched over to a video that would kill it.

Good luck.

(note unrelated to this problem: there is new support in Android 12 to remove the need for location data https://developer.android.com/guide/top ... r-location
"Add the android:usesPermissionFlags attribute to your BLUETOOTH_SCAN permission declaration, and set this attribute's value to neverForLocation. Note: If you include neverForLocation in your android:usesPermissionFlags, some BLE beacons are filtered from the scan results.")

Post Reply