Please, Please, Please - A Longer Monitor Timeout

Please add feature and function requests for PM3 firmware, DLL/API's, and documentation here.
Post Reply
Hollywood_Kuma
1k Poster
Posts: 108
Joined: February 5th, 2014, 4:18 am

Please, Please, Please - A Longer Monitor Timeout

Post by Hollywood_Kuma » September 6th, 2014, 9:55 pm

This issue is a problem and a frustration for me, and for the members of the rowing club to which I belong.

When we're using our monitors (a roomful of PM3s on Model D ergs) during our training sessions, the time out (i.e., the time before the monitor turns off) is really fast, and much too aggressive. This is so frustrating when there is a group of eight of us, and we set up a complex variable interval set, and then someone asks a question and the monitors go blank as the coach speaks to us. We then have to start over again. It wastes time and demotivates people, and it's a problem that happens over and over and over again.

So, may I make a sincere plea from my heart to the good people of Concept 2:

"Please, please, please can we increase the time out before the monitor goes back to sleep in the firmware".

This would, presumably, be a really simple thing to do. As Concept 2 is currently releasing the new PM5 monitor, this seems like an appropriate time to make this appeal.

Of course, the monitor's developers may want to conserve battery power. But, as the performance monitors all seem to consume such little power anyway, I don't think this is an issue. Even in gyms, where the ergs are in constant use, batteries last at least 6 - 12 months.

The time out really needs to be at least 5 minutes, and it would be welcomed by everyone, particularly the instructors, across the entire C2 community across the globe.

If the development team is really resistant to doing this (on the basis of saving battery power) then an option to vary the timeout could be programmed (so it is selectable from 1 - 10 minutes say). But I think this is more complicated, and unnecessary. We really just need the timeout to be 5 minutes or longer.

At home I have a PM4 monitor (hardware version 249) and I'm running firmware version 318. The timeout period is 2 minutes. It's just too aggressive and can't be adjusted.

If there is any way we can beg Concept 2 to increase this to 5 minutes or longer? I'm prepared to offer gold, liquor and similar inducements.

In the past, I think earlier firmware versions may have had a longer timeout. It seems very silly that the latest firmware timeout is so aggressive, and it just causes all of us so much grief and frustration.

User avatar
Citroen
SpamTeam
Posts: 6751
Joined: March 16th, 2006, 3:28 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK

Re: Please, Please, Please - A Longer Monitor Timeout

Post by Citroen » September 7th, 2014, 7:33 pm

If you want firmware changes then ask Concept2 by writing to rowing@concept2.com (or directly to ScottH @ concept2).

ArmandoChavezUNC
6k Poster
Posts: 862
Joined: November 18th, 2008, 11:21 pm

Re: Please, Please, Please - A Longer Monitor Timeout

Post by ArmandoChavezUNC » September 7th, 2014, 8:35 pm

Hollywood_Kuma wrote:This is so frustrating when there is a group of eight of us, and we set up a complex variable interval set, and then someone asks a question and the monitors go blank as the coach speaks to us. We then have to start over again. It wastes time and demotivates people, and it's a problem that happens over and over and over again.
Suggestion - get all the talking/coaching/preparing done, THEN set up the monitor.

I agree with quick timeout can be a hassle from time to time but I wouldn't go nearly as far as saying it's a problem or frustration as you and your teammates claim.
PBs: 2k 6:09.0 (2020), 6k 19:38.9 (2020), 10k 33:55.5 (2019), 60' 17,014m (2018), HM 1:13:27.5 (2019)

Old PBs: LP 1:09.9 (~2010), 100m 16.1 (~2010), 500m 1:26.7 (~2010), 1k 3:07.0 (~2010)

User avatar
jackarabit
Marathon Poster
Posts: 5275
Joined: June 14th, 2014, 9:51 am

Re: Please, Please, Please - A Longer Monitor Timeout

Post by jackarabit » September 7th, 2014, 9:57 pm

Take a look at thread "Should my PM always be on when connected to a powered USB hub?" in Indoor Rowers subforum. You and your buds can make this fellow's problem your solution if you don't mind a few cords draped hither and yon running to the power points. Or, keep pressing "Change Units" or "Change Display" to keep the display active for multiples of two minutes. Or plug into an old PC that will at least power up. Can't expect the folks in Vermont to do everything for us what with maple sugaring and mud season and what all. Maybe you know somebody who can get you the hubs wholesale? Jack

PS: free prograpp ErgData keeps monitor up nites also but requires 30$ cable from C2 and a tablet or blabslab to run it. I found this function useful for 6' off erg break in recent HM.
There are two types of people in this world: Those who can extrapolate from incomplete data

M_73_5'-7"_156lb
Image

User avatar
Citroen
SpamTeam
Posts: 6751
Joined: March 16th, 2006, 3:28 pm
Location: A small cave in deepest darkest Basingstoke, UK

Re: Please, Please, Please - A Longer Monitor Timeout

Post by Citroen » September 8th, 2014, 5:44 am

ArmandoChavezUNC wrote:
Hollywood_Kuma wrote:This is so frustrating when there is a group of eight of us, and we set up a complex variable interval set, and then someone asks a question and the monitors go blank as the coach speaks to us. We then have to start over again. It wastes time and demotivates people, and it's a problem that happens over and over and over again.
Suggestion - get all the talking/coaching/preparing done, THEN set up the monitor.

I agree with quick timeout can be a hassle from time to time but I wouldn't go nearly as far as saying it's a problem or frustration as you and your teammates claim.
Keep pressing the [change units] or [change display] buttons and the PM3/PM4/PM5 will stay alive even when you are not rowing.

Hollywood_Kuma
1k Poster
Posts: 108
Joined: February 5th, 2014, 4:18 am

Re: Please, Please, Please - A Longer Monitor Timeout

Post by Hollywood_Kuma » September 9th, 2014, 5:06 am

@Citroen,

Thanks for the referral - I spoke to Scott as a helpful guy who has a reputation for getting things done. He tells me that this is something that is currently being discussed, so perhaps we will see this on the PM5.

I know the "change units" cycling will keep the monitor alive, but when there is a large group, it always seems to be that at least someone will forget to cycle the buttons. But that is indeed what we try and do to keep all of the monitors alive.

@ArmandoChavezUNC

Yes, we do try and get everyone set up before we start a session. But when welcoming beginners, there are always some questions that crop up, so it would be helpful if the timeout could be increased, and given the low power consumption of the monitors, there seems no reason why the timeout should not be longer (as it was with earlier firmware versions).

@jackarabit

Thanks for the advice. I'll wait and see what Scott comes up with. If C2 are kind enough to make the change, the problem is sorted. Otherwise USB hubs may work, and they are so cheap that the cost is superficial. We'd prefer not to have a bunch of cables though. ErgData is good, and I use it at home, but it would be too much hassle to try to get a large group to use this.

Hollywood_Kuma
1k Poster
Posts: 108
Joined: February 5th, 2014, 4:18 am

Re: Please, Please, Please - A Longer Monitor Timeout

Post by Hollywood_Kuma » September 27th, 2014, 4:06 am

Playing around with my new PM5 equipped Model D erg, which arrived today, I downloaded version 14, build 7 beta firmware for the PM5 (using the beta utility v6.73, so living on the edge). I'm delighted to see the annoying two minute monitor time out is gone. The time out is now a much more reasonable five minutes. A shout-out to Scott and his colleagues at C2 for addressing this annoyance. Hopefully they will instigate the same on the legacy monitors if there are further releases of PM3 and PM4 firmware.

To all on the C2 PM5 development team, thank you for listening, and for fixing this.

bn880
Paddler
Posts: 1
Joined: April 10th, 2015, 2:51 pm

Re: Please, Please, Please - A Longer Monitor Timeout

Post by bn880 » April 10th, 2015, 2:53 pm

I agree that an option to change the timeout at least is needed. (even if by providing 2 separate firmwares, but that can get annoying to maintain) I just recently got my Concept 2 and its problematic when you're still learning the ores or need to pause for a bit. I'm sure it's a massive headache in a team environment.

Post Reply