Training advice?

General discussion on Training. How to get better on your erg, how to use your erg to get better at another sport, or anything else about improving your abilities.
oknussen
Paddler

Training advice?

Post by oknussen » January 11th, 2017, 5:46 pm

Hi all,

I am looking for some advice on training. I have been rowing for 6 months after no exercise for 4-5 years (or more). It's been great - I've lost 25 pounds (about 180 lbs now) and love it. My primary goal is fitness and weight loss but I also like making progress on my pace. I row 6 days a week and about logging between 80-90km week (I take 1 day off and from time to time can't get to the gym because of work/travel etc.).

I have looked at and tried a couple different training plans but end up doing something a little weird - I tend to row three 5K's every day (sometimes will do an extra 2 or 3K), with a couple minutes between each - enough time to log time, avg split, spm, watts and cal and my 1K splits. I negative split each 5K (that is each 1K within a 5K is faster than the previous and tend to move to high rate/sprint over the last 500-1000m). I tend to rate 19/20/21/22 for the first 4K then increase the last 1K (last 500 about 28-31). The third 5K does tend to be slower than the first 2. I settled on 5K's after trying 6K's, 30 minutes and other set time/distances which tended to make my back sore.

I have been getting faster and keeping the weight I have lost off - so that's good. At the same time, if I look at the training bands (based on watts), most of my time is spent doing AT work and TR work (based on a 7:38 2K time). The first 1K is often in the 2:09/2:10 area as I warm up (60-70% of my watts maximum) though sometimes in the UT2 range, the middle 3K in the upper end of the AT, the last 1K split between TR and AN (as defined below).