Tenshuu's Trials

General discussion on Training. How to get better on your erg, how to use your erg to get better at another sport, or anything else about improving your abilities.
Tenshuu
2k Poster

Tenshuu's Trials

Post by Tenshuu » March 4th, 2019, 4:10 pm

Hey everyone, the name is Anthony, 5'7", 190lbs, 29 until 3/29.

I'm not of Asian descent contrary to my username, it has kind of stuck with me from my early teenage years playing video games online, joining a clan paying tribute to the Chinese dragons... It was all young and harmless at the time (probably not so much in today's society)
To continue on what got me to beginning my enthusiasm for erging, and now interest in trying to learn OTW some day - I graduated highschool in 2007, went straight to University with no plan, did the party life more than the classwork life, withdrew and worked full time. During that period I went from 215lbs to 260lbs, spent my time working retail and then playing videogames at my computer for the remaining free time.
My sister, 7 years my elder, busy CPA career and 4 children, was ALSO deep into the Beachbody LLC pyramid marketing, she was pimping p90x all over her social media 2008-2009. I bought into it, got results dropping me to 190lbs. I did my run through the program again, but with all this new energy and self confidence I started to change as a person and needed to get out of the apartment for my fitness.

Fast forward 2010ish I try going back to University for nutrition, I wanted to be a dietitian. Started using the University fitness center to do a lifting program referred by a friend - Madcow 5x5. I loved the lifts, and was watching the CrossFit scene grow. I saw these guys moving heavy things AND still sprinting and flying through aerobic activities in other workouts.

I started warming up with jogs on the indoor track, then lifting, then jogging to cool down before stretching and leaving. Then I introduced myself to the c2.