Technique Troubleshooting (not in FAQ)

General discussion on Training. How to get better on your erg, how to use your erg to get better at another sport, or anything else about improving your abilities.
HeavyDluxe
Paddler

Technique Troubleshooting (not in FAQ)

Post by HeavyDluxe » August 27th, 2020, 3:31 pm

Hi, all. I'm brand new to rowing on the C2 - literally in the first week of intentional 'workouts' at home. I've posted an intro over in the weight loss forum since, well, my primary wellness goal right now is weight loss.

The typical beginner plans I've seen (Pete's, etc) seemed a little ambitious for this 45y/o round guy, and I want to avoid injury so I decided to ramp up slowly and attempt to build a good mechanical foundation. Notice the 'attempt' and 'good' as opposed to 'build' and 'sound'. :)

I found Dark Horse Rowing's youtube and decided to start by just repeating their 10min Beginner Workout for at least a couple weeks. Link here for the curious, but it's mainly three brief full stroke periods at a low rate (15-16?) with pick and rev pick drill progressions in between.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GYQEP66O9bk

Once I've done that a while, I planned to move so that MWF are rowing intervals, adding time and reducing rest as fitness allows, and TuTh are technique focused. And progressing from there - maybe to Pete's Beginner program when the snow flies (which isn't too far away here in VT).

I've been pleased that I've seen/felt improvements each time (#4 just done). But I've also started to notice a couple mechanical/technical things not addressed in the video. FOR NOW, they're no big deal and may work themselves out as I get used to rowing, build a bit of strength or fitness, or whatever. But, I'm a bit obsessive about 'knowing' things, so I wanted to ask for thoughts so I have them ready.

TLDR starts here: