Intro and noob (newb) question: weak push from legs?

General discussion on Training. How to get better on your erg, how to use your erg to get better at another sport, or anything else about improving your abilities.
chicagoal
Paddler

Intro and noob (newb) question: weak push from legs?

Post by chicagoal » August 28th, 2020, 11:25 am

Hi all. What a great community here!

Here's me: I'm 5' 7" (and slipping), 170lbs, and 64 years old. I'm no athlete, never have been, but I'm active and seem to have been lucky in the gene lottery. Resting HR is in the 60s.

I'm kind of new to rowing, at least to doing it right. I actually used a C2 at my gym pretty regularly, for a few years, but only as part of a routine. Following about 10 miles on a stationary bike doing intervals, pretty hard, I would do a 2K on the rower. My only coaching was a general trainer who said my form was 'good.' Pre-covid I'd started doing intervals in the 2K, and got my time down from 10"+ to maybe 8:30 which seemed fast to me but I know wasn't. I think my stroke rate was low 30s and if I wanted more speed I simply pulled faster--also I ramped up the damper to 9 or so. At this point I wasn't using any of the display's advanced functions;I have no idea what my power curve or wattage was. I still felt I was getting a good workout from the rower and my core, back, and shoulders certainly showed it. My legs too but that was likely the bike.

It's now been six months since I was at the gym, and I found the thing I missed the most and couldn't do at home was row. So a few weeks ago I got my own Model D and I have started over from scratch. Obviously there's a LOT more to rowing and the rower and I want to use that...not to compete, but for general fitness and to keep the ol' machine going.

I've definitely lost a step and gained about 10 lbs since COVID but I'm not in bad shape. I have no problem rowing 5K. Damper has mostly been at a more sensible 3 or 4.