Concept2 DYNO PM2 doesn't count.

Not sure where you should be posting? Put it here.
Post Reply
tamo
Paddler
Posts: 3
Joined: January 15th, 2019, 4:18 pm

Concept2 DYNO PM2 doesn't count.

Post by tamo » January 15th, 2019, 4:32 pm

Please can someone help? My Concept2 dyno does not count the force in the monitor. I've checked the cable is OK first thing. When we make a 3 time warm-up the monitor doesn't step down the number from 3 to 2 to 1. To start with I'm not sure whether the problem is with the monitor or the sensor in the fan cage. Please has anyone else seen this problem and how did you solve it? Thanks in advance to all.
Last edited by Citroen on January 15th, 2019, 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Rewrote the English (be nice this new user is not a first language English speaker). Swapped from all CAPITALS to mixed case.

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 3092
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: Concept2 DYNO PM2 doesn't count.

Post by Carl Watts » January 15th, 2019, 7:51 pm

The cable should measure about 103 to 105 Ohms, its just a coil of enamel copper wire.

If you have some battery leakage inside, this will be the cause of the problem.
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

tamo
Paddler
Posts: 3
Joined: January 15th, 2019, 4:18 pm

Re: Concept2 DYNO PM2 doesn't count.

Post by tamo » January 16th, 2019, 5:16 pm

the cable ,,,,I measure it , show me 110Ω , about battery i put new both of them , i measure and volt from out plug its about 0,14mv i think maybe the sensor down of wheel has problem or display , i open and display ....do you have any other idea ,,, ,thanks for answer me my friend

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 3092
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: Concept2 DYNO PM2 doesn't count.

Post by Carl Watts » January 16th, 2019, 6:41 pm

There is a problem with the monitor.

You can put the Dyno monitor on a Model C Erg to test it, if you row the numbers should still change.
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

tamo
Paddler
Posts: 3
Joined: January 15th, 2019, 4:18 pm

Re: Concept2 DYNO PM2 doesn't count.

Post by tamo » January 18th, 2019, 3:03 pm

THANKS A LOT CARLS .....AND YOU THINK IS MONITOR ,HAVE A GOOD EVENING

PGH_row
Paddler
Posts: 2
Joined: April 20th, 2019, 8:42 pm

Re: Concept2 DYNO PM2 doesn't count.

Post by PGH_row » April 20th, 2019, 8:56 pm

Any progress with the dyno monitor problem above?

I recently bought a dyno and the monitor worked when I bought it. When I put it back together after replacing some rusty parts and even installing a new monitor cord, the monitor now doesn't count down. It has some odd lines on the display too. The monitor is in good condition with no corrosion and has new lithium batteries. Any ideas on what is the problem?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bz0H0n ... sp=sharing

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 3092
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: Concept2 DYNO PM2 doesn't count.

Post by Carl Watts » April 21st, 2019, 5:40 pm

Battery leakage corrosion is the problem, its taken out some tracks that drive the LCD display.

I repaired my first Dyno monitor from the USA a couple of weeks ago, it was sent to me via Airmail and the repair paid for via PayPal.

Airmail is cheap but its quite a long delay getting it back to the USA. These monitors are as rare as hens teeth now but I can repair it for the cost of a new PM5.

Private Message me if your interested in getting it repaired and fully refurbished.
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

Post Reply