RowProw rower quits then program stops

Topics relating to online racing and training with 3rd party software.
Post Reply
David Pomerantz
500m Poster
Posts: 92
Joined: July 18th, 2010, 2:33 pm

RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by David Pomerantz » February 26th, 2019, 9:46 pm

Hi,
Periodically, and with increasing frequency, I get on RowPro for a training row. Everything starts normally, then at some point during the session the animated rower stops. Everything else proceeds normally until the training portion of the session ends. Through the training session the program is continuing to monitor and display my heart rate, stroke rate, speed, and the associated graphs. When the training row completes, the program never gives me the cool down row. It just stays there. If I move the cursor, I get the Mac spinning wheel of doom. Eventually, all I can do is force the program to close by restarting the computer. Fortunately the data from the warm up and main row is stored in the logbook, and I only lose out on the cool down and animated rower. Any thoughts? I’m running in RowPro v.5.3, but this problem was also occurring before I upgraded from 5.2 to 5.3.

Dave

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 2975
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by Carl Watts » February 26th, 2019, 11:21 pm

Hi David,

I suddenly started having the same problem with V4.3 and a PM4 a couple of weeks ago.

The problem was solved by moving to RP V5.3 with the PM5 on V27 Firmware. I was forced to move to V5.3 as the PM4 cannot be used on V4.3 with the new V332 firmware on it and I had no other options to try and get rid of the problem.

The transition has not been without problems. I suggest if you are using a USB stick in the PM5, then don't. This information came direct from Digital Rowing.

Not only did my digital rower suddenly stop rowing, my PM4 began randomly loosing the USB connection so I was pushed into an upgrade.

Personally I think its due to changes in Windows 10, I had been using RP4.3 on the same PC with the PM4 for like 5 years and had no problems.The only thing that changed was the continual Windows 10 version changes.

I may still yet move to a new graphics card as apparently the Radeon versions give more problems than GeForce.

Will probably look at the GT1030, GDDR5, it has a score 4 times better than my current R7 240 card.

What spec PC are you using or are you on a Mac ?
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

User avatar
lframari
Paddler
Posts: 38
Joined: June 13th, 2016, 8:16 am

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by lframari » February 27th, 2019, 9:08 am

I am running 5.2. When I look on the RowPro site it says it has a number of bug fixes. Does anyone know what those bug fixes are? :?

Thanks in advance.
Louie

David Pomerantz
500m Poster
Posts: 92
Joined: July 18th, 2010, 2:33 pm

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by David Pomerantz » February 27th, 2019, 8:50 pm

I’m not using a USB stick. I have USB-USB connection between laptop and PM5. I have a MacBook Air laptop with the most current operating system. I upgraded to 5.3 from 5.2 because I was hoping one of those bug fixes might handle this issue.

Dave

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 2975
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by Carl Watts » February 27th, 2019, 10:10 pm

What Firmware version is your PM5 running ?
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

David Pomerantz
500m Poster
Posts: 92
Joined: July 18th, 2010, 2:33 pm

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by David Pomerantz » February 28th, 2019, 12:39 am

Using MacBook Air with macOS Mojave Version 10.14.3
Hardware version 26
PM5 Firmware Version 502

Dave

David Pomerantz
500m Poster
Posts: 92
Joined: July 18th, 2010, 2:33 pm

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by David Pomerantz » February 28th, 2019, 12:59 am

I’m updating to version 27 right now. I see that V.27 includes a”fix to unexpected workout termination caused by pause in rowing”. Until now I had thought that perhaps my program was hanging up between the active training and active rest portions of the workouts. Hoping this .27 upgrade fixes the issue.

Dave

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 2975
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by Carl Watts » February 28th, 2019, 4:04 am

Okay you got your numbers round the wrong way above.

You have the first hardware generation of the PM5 like me so probably not ideal either but my setup now appears quite stable.I'm already on V27.

The only issue is my graphics can first open all blurry and then RP closes automatically but pretty sure I need to move to a GeForce video card and bin the Radeon one I'm using if I want to cure that. Not an expensive fix, $159 for a new card that smashes the performance of mine by about 4x.

Sometimes I wonder why we need all this grunt. The Defender arcade game in the 1980's IIRC ran on an 8bit 6809 micro with a 4MHz crystal and 64K of RAM.

Now I have a 64bit Quad core CPU running at 2.93GHz with 4GB of RAM and still the thing falls over.
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

David Pomerantz
500m Poster
Posts: 92
Joined: July 18th, 2010, 2:33 pm

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by David Pomerantz » February 28th, 2019, 8:44 pm

Ya, got the firmware and hardware #s crisscrossed. Did the upgrade to V27 and have RowPro 5.3 and first row since upgrade went without flaw. Had two training intervals, one active rest in between, then active rest at end.

Dave

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 2975
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by Carl Watts » February 28th, 2019, 9:56 pm

Did a 10K row yesterday, no issues. I think you may find that V27 has fixed the issue.
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

David Pomerantz
500m Poster
Posts: 92
Joined: July 18th, 2010, 2:33 pm

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by David Pomerantz » March 7th, 2019, 9:05 am

Well, it happened again :-( I had several rows on RowPro after upgrading RowPro and the firmware, then same exact thing happened today on a RowPro slow pressure intervals training row.

Dave

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 2975
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by Carl Watts » March 7th, 2019, 9:41 am

Yes its annoying but not much you can do after updating to V5.3 and the latest monitor firmware besides either put up with it or buy some newer/better computer hardware.

Seems to be pretty stable here now, RP5.3 appears much better in that it can loose the race server and reconnect again and keep going rather than you getting a DNF or not even appearing in the row results.

Think I may splash out and get that new video card, have another PC in the house thats now having issues with an older card now the updates for it have stopped. Filter down the older hardware into less demanding applications before it finally goes in the recycle bin.

It would appear your now forced to continually update your hardware to keep pace with the Windows 10 OS which is moving at "10 times" the update pace compared what it used to be.
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

TonyHCM/HR
Paddler
Posts: 1
Joined: December 19th, 2009, 9:23 pm

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by TonyHCM/HR » March 12th, 2019, 11:19 am

My old laptop crashed so I bought a new laptop and I upgraded my RowPro and firmware and I now get regular crashes. My new machine is pretty nice running windows 10 with 16 GB ram, i7 intel chip and an ssd drive. Digital Rowing is at a loss to explain my crashes. It's at the point where I no longer try to do a set row because I know at some point it will crash and my effort will be wasted. My older version was much more stable this new one has been a waste of money.

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 2975
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: RowProw rower quits then program stops

Post by Carl Watts » March 12th, 2019, 4:53 pm

TonyHCM/HR wrote:
March 12th, 2019, 11:19 am
My old laptop crashed so I bought a new laptop and I upgraded my RowPro and firmware and I now get regular crashes. My new machine is pretty nice running windows 10 with 16 GB ram, i7 intel chip and an ssd drive. Digital Rowing is at a loss to explain my crashes. It's at the point where I no longer try to do a set row because I know at some point it will crash and my effort will be wasted. My older version was much more stable this new one has been a waste of money.
Whats your graphics chipset ? does it have dedicated graphics ?

You would have thought that kind of laptop would eat it, but yes its not as good as V4.3 once that was stable. I did a year of 7500m a day, rowing over 5 rows a week and it crashed maybe once.

I have been having a few issues with the RP server, so that means everyone is having issues.

All you can do really is make sure everything is up to date if your having issues like this, monitor firmware, Windows 10 updates etc.If you have dedicated Radeon graphics, then according to Digital Rowing this gives more issues than GeForce.
Carl Watts.
Age:52 Weight: 104kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

Post Reply