Rowpro suddenly stopped working

Topics relating to online racing and training with 3rd party software.
rewarriner
Paddler
Posts: 11
Joined: November 17th, 2015, 5:29 pm

Re: Rowpro suddenly stopped working

Post by rewarriner » May 5th, 2016, 4:24 am

Picking that the move to a Full HD TV or 1080p is going to be good enough for along time to come, probably a 100Hz. The big decision is whether or not to get an Android TV in the hope that I may eventually be able to get rid of the PC and run the USB cable directly into the TV and run RP as an App.
For what it is worth I found the best arrangement for me is to clone my 4K laptop screen to a monitor. The monitor is only 900 lines vertical so the cloned display only shows 720 lines interpolated from the laptop screen. It works well enough for rowing. If I extend the screen rather than clone it then because the program can't handle mixed resolutions I end up with some huge elements such as the menu bar and texts and the actual river graphics reduced to a very thin ribbon when viewed on the lower resolution external monitor.

I am sure the guys at RowPro will fix these issues eventually since they clearly say v5 is still in Preview version.

User avatar
Carl Watts
Half Marathon Poster
Posts: 2873
Joined: January 8th, 2010, 4:35 pm
Location: NEW ZEALAND

Re: Rowpro suddenly stopped working

Post by Carl Watts » May 5th, 2016, 7:44 pm

Gone Android, bought a Sony KDL43W800C to use as a monitor. Full HD and these are 100Hz so should do the job for years to come. The old Plasma was made in 2003, lucky it had a single HMDI input, resolution was terrible at 852 x 480 !!!! honestly the graphics are a bit chunky in V4.3 but the picture was pretty bad and small text was hopeless.
Carl Watts.
Age:51 Weight: 98kg Height:183cm
Concept 2 Monitor Service Technician & indoor rower.
http://log.concept2.com/profile/863525/log

colinm
Paddler
Posts: 2
Joined: November 14th, 2017, 7:45 pm

Re: Rowpro suddenly stopped working

Post by colinm » November 15th, 2017, 4:33 pm

I’ve also got this problem since moving to a new laptop and Windows 10 - crashes within 30 seconds of opening.
Support suggesting best way is to upgrade to v5 but I don’t want to pay to upgrade when I’m happy with v4.3 (no new functions in v5 that are of interest).
Did people find the root cause was an antivirus and/or firewall problem? I will try installing v5 as suggested too and see if that kicks 4.3 into life.
Thanks

User avatar
Rowan McSheen
2k Poster
Posts: 200
Joined: December 13th, 2014, 6:33 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK

Re: Rowpro suddenly stopped working

Post by Rowan McSheen » October 2nd, 2018, 7:34 am

In case anyone else is experiencing it - RowPro was crashing on startup this morning, disabling the internet connection resolved it. As advised earlier in this thread.

Digital Rowing's website is down at the time of typing this.
Stu 5' 9" 175 lb (give or take a few) born 1960

Post Reply